Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

What is a life liven in the confines of fear? – what’s it worth, if anything at all.
In this post, I’ll be careful not to generalize, since it’s such a fragile topic to speak of; so I’ll whisper quietly.

Without specifying; without giving away my privacy, I’ll be honest and open: I’ve had a life that has forced me into a world of fears.
We all have fears, don’t we? I believe we all have this great fear of failing – not being good enough; the fear is living among us, it’s hidden in the depth of our hearts. We fear death – we fear life – we fear the unknown, so the question is: How do we escape these fears?

As cliché as it might sound, I’ve found my escape in: writing. You see, whenever I write poems, essays or even work on my current novel: Pioneers, I feel invulnerable; I feel as if nothing can touch me – hurt me. Through the power of words, I find comfort and safety; I find the strength to look into the eyes of my fears, knowing that I will prosper – I will overcome them. 
It must be hard to grasp how ‘simple‘ words can change a fragile soul. I guess one would have to feel it for oneself before truly understanding what we writers are speaking of, when we speak of: the power of words
Through writing I’ve managed to escape my ‘old life’: a life liven in the confines of fear. The moment I forced myself to become fearless, an entire new world has opened up for me. So what if you fail? – You’ll get back on the horse again. So what if you’re not the coolest kid in class? – Go redefine the meaning of ‘Cool’. So what if you’re not the prettiest girl in class? – Beauty is much more than physical appearance. Besides, dear friend, we all have a different definition of what beauty is, so don’t let others discourage you.

I’ll finish with this whisper: A life liven in the confines of fear, is not to be defined as: living – simply existing. So I beg you, dear friend, start living life without the confines of fear: start living – take your first breath … now.