Tags

, , , , , ,

If you’ve read my ‘Persona’ – and most of my posts, then you’ve most likely noticed that philosophy plays a huge part in my writing; philosophy is put in between the lines and makes it possible for me to speak of the unspoken – it allows me to whisper the things other writers are afraid of. 

Surely we’re all different – besides the fact that all human beings are ‘special individuals’ (cliché, cliché) – we writers have different writing-styles. Writers like John Green tend to be straight forward – they write what they think, without any deeper, mysterious meaning, which is just great! He’s an awesome writer, don’t get me wrong, but books without a deeper meaning, is for me like an empty shell; you work hard to open it and when you finally do, all you’re left with is emptiness. For example, in both Fyodor Dostoevsky and Leo Tolstoy’s writings, philosophy plays an enormous part and allows them to do what other writers – still to date – can’t achieve with same perfection.
You might argue against me, you might think – and I’ve come across a lot of passionate John Green fans who have all said the same to me: You don’t ALWAYS need to put hidden lines between the written ones – you don’t ALWAYS need some ‘woohoo-deep-secret-crack the code’ type book; sometimes a ‘simple’ story is just fine.

You know what I always say back? ‘I’m glad there’s a crowd for every type of book’ But writing down words and getting them published doesn’t make you a writer.’ (Get the irony?)

I guess one could be temped to say that I’m snobbish when it comes to books – but, please, let me ensure you, I’m not. You see, there’s a great difference between being ‘snobbish’ and ‘passionate’. I’m overly passionate when it comes to books, I admit; I don’t want the craft to be ruined by modern ‘writers’ who don’t share the same passion for the craft as the ‘fathers of literature’ did – even if they do, it’s still not always enough. I mean, I’m super passionate about writing and have read lots of books and even studied the art of writing for several of years, but I’ve still not tried to get anything published because being passionate ISN’T … ALWAYS … ENOUGH. I ‘can’t stress enough how much thought one has to put into the whole idea of being published and becoming a ‘writer’. Why? Because you mustn’t forget the many passionate readers who won’t get fooled by a cute plot or some cute love story or even a sex-dominated plot (50 Shades of Grey). No, they will either see you as a scam artist – someone ruining the art of writing, or they will see you as an artist molding the clay the ‘fathers of literature’ have left behind; it’s all up to you: do you want to become a ‘writer’, or a writer? Your choice.