Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday, when I got home from work, I was lucky to find my family enjoying life; they had gathered their closest friends, dad was BBQ’ing – in an Armenian traditional way – mom and the ladies were enjoying their cold glasses of wine, children were playing around and my beautiful girlfriend was speaking with my older brother – who is soon to leave Denmark; he is going away to study traditional martial arts in Korea – so you can pretty much visuals the harmonic picture I’m trying to paint – but what is my point? Well, I guess what I’m trying to say is: this was one if those moments where one truly had to be in the moment – in the present, because sometimes the present can truly be a pleasant present.

When we sat to dine – my dad, being Armenian and all – kept it traditional and held quite a few toasts; he spoke of life, of friendship, of the close bonds they shared with the people whom they had invited. – for me to sit there and just … listen, observe, soak up the harmonic moment was an honor. – he is truly my idol and inspiration in life, he and my brother.
I don’t know if you’re like me in spirit, but I tend to find greater joy in life by observing the smiles upon the lips if my loved ones – I don’t necessarily have to participate – I like to be on the sideline and observing; and that was exactly what I did – and it hit me: life is happening right now.

Conversation was flowing in same paste as the wine – there were laughter everywhere, heck, even my mom were dancing with my girlfriend and I – and eventually she got everyone up and dancing. I guess that is one if the strengths of my culture – we don’t need much in order to enjoy life – all we need is genuine love; and speaking if love – I have the most dedicated girlfriend – I have a family whose bond is stronger than faith ! – and I have friends who’re truly faithful and very loyal – life is happening right now and I’m living life in the moment – it’s not too often I get to do that, but whenever I get the chance to do so, I’ll be damned if I let the opportunity slip.

As the evening was to end and I were lying in bed with my beautiful girlfriend, cuddling, enjoying the last bits of an amazing day – I got emotional; very emotional actually. I couldn’t understand why I was so lucky – so blessed if you will – what had I done to deserve such love ? Her silent and tender breathing had an calming effect on me – and the calmness made it possible for me to reflect in the entire day; all the speeches, the wine, the conversations, the genuine smiles – how good life truly feels once it happens – and not just that – but how good life feels once you’re aware of the “moment” where nothing else but love matters – love from your loved ones.
Anyways – I’ve promised myself to capture the moment and truly make sure that every day is as the one last night; cause Nietzsche was right when he said: God is dead – what he meant was: it is up to us to create joy and happiness – and I will do just that; starting from NOW.